“Hey Caroline”

Ok so I’m not really a white girl named Caroline, this is the tale of how I got dubbed the name “Hey Caroline”

 

I have been told countless of times that I speak like a white girl like, whatever that means, because I use phrases like “Omg! I am so lime green Jell-O”, “Like whatever guy”  words like totes, TTFN, Like and my favourite word “Totally” a lot which is not how your average black South African male speaks  I am also very articulate  when it comes to English which is by the way me second language , back to Caroline

I was at an event with one of closest friends Katlego Nyoni and as usual I head to my favourite place THE BAR while he worked the crowd and secured us a couple of cute boys to chill with, had a few drinks and that’s when I go into full on Caroline mode speech pattern changes accent goes to somewhat of a bad blend of British and Australian yikes, body language morphs from ridged to more flirty at that moment one would swear that I am Transformer.

 

Image result for transformers
Transformers robots in disguise

As the evening went on Katlego and I decide to do our dance routine yep we have our own little cheerleader meets Britney Spears, meet Christina Aguilera meets The Pussycat Dolls meets Burlesque sexy cute dance going on, mind u this is at a hip-hop event and here are these two little Fairies dancing and prancing around like Princess Holly and Princess Molly on the empty dancefloor, the boy we were with stood up and cheered us on as the rest of crowed stared in awe.

Image result for cheerleader dancing“come on over, come on over babe”-Christina Aguilera

We went back to our table giggling like two little school girls, one of the guys said “you guys are like two crazy white chicks” Katlego and looked at each other as if to confirm what he had said and we laughed, we continued with conversation with the boys who looked better and better after each bottle we downed , that very same guy said again “ you two are like white girls”, “ but him” pointing to me “ Is way worse” , “ he is a Caroline, the things he says and the way he speak it’s like a white girl in a black man’s body” Kat looked and me and giggles and confirms what he just said , as the evening went on everyone at the table started referring to me as White Girl Caroline, which led to them introducing me to everyone else as Caroline, by the end of the night everyone there was on some  “hey Caroline “ it was time to leave so I managed to sneak a snog with one of the boys and we headed back home.

Since then I’ve grown quite  fond of the name, I still do at times refer to myself as Caroline even posted a status on Facebook about being Caroline , and the name has caught on. I’ll get that “Hey Caroline “every now and then on social media.

 A few months later we bump into the exact same guys and guess what they said “Hey Caroline”

Leave a Reply

